Using Keeping in Gmail
Everything you need to know to understand the basics of using Keeping inside Gmail.

Your Keeping Inbox

After you successfully join an organization and login to the Keeping Chrome Extension, you'll find your new Keeping features in the left sidebar of Gmail.
Keeping in Gmail's left sidebar.

See Your Tickets

In your left sidebar, click "Keeping" to see all of the open tickets across all of your shared mailboxes. Click "Unassigned", "Mine", or "Assigned" to further filter your Keeping inbox.
We highly recommend that you use Keeping with "Conversation View" enabled. Conversation View (or email threading) groups emails for the same ticket together.
Every Keeping ticket is just a regular email that arrives in your Gmail with as "Archived" with a Keeping status of "Open". Keeping uses Gmail's powerful search to show these open tickets to you when you click on the Keeping toolbar.
Keeping will warn you if you try to delete (move to trash) an "Open" or "Pending" ticket. If you must delete a Keeping ticket, set its status to "Closed" first, but know that it will only be deleted in your Gmail inbox, not everyone else's.

Filter Your Tickets

If you are in a Keeping view of your Gmail inbox, you can apply fine grained filters to see open or pending tickets with a particular tag, priority, or assignee.
Good to know: These filters are not available when viewing your "Closed" tickets inside Gmail. If you'd like to see Closed tickets for a particular agent, tag, or priority, please use the web portal.
Filter your Keeping inbox

Viewing a Ticket

Let's take a look at an individual ticket and what you can do.
An open ticket in Keeping
Every Keeping ticket is assigned a unique ticket ID (in the upper right corner when the sidebar is open). At the bottom of your ticket, you'll see more information on which mailbox the email was sent to as well as your customer's reply email address.
Rest assured that your customer will never see these when you reply - every reply from Keeping looks like a regular email.
When you reply to a Keeping ticket from your personal or work Gmail account, the email will be sent from your support mailbox and it will look like a normal email.

Assigning, Prioritizing, and Changing Ticket Status

When you open a Keeping ticket in Gmail, you'll see a new sidebar on the right. Use this sidebar assign a ticket to yourself or a teammate, set the priority, or change the status of a ticket. To unassign a ticket, hover over a name and click the "x" that appears.
Keeping automatically assigns the ticket to you and changes the status of a ticket to "closed" when you reply. If your customer replies back, the ticket is reopened. Check your mailbox settings to adjust this default.
Assign, prioritize, and change the status of a ticket.

Creating and Adding Tags

You can assign a tag to better organize your support tickets. Before you do, you'll need to create your tag in your Keeping settings. You can also access this page via the "edit" link next to the tag menu in Gmail.
Add a new tag via the edit link.
Good to know: If you don't see an edit link here, you likely don't have admin privileges. Only admins can edit, add, and delete tags.

Viewing and Creating Notes

Notes are only viewable by your team and offer a way to provide more context or information about request. By using the @ symbol and a teammates name, you can trigger a notification so the ticket is brought to their attention.
Leave private notes in your sidebar.

Activity Log

The "Activity" Tab shows a complete history of a Keeping ticket since it was created. Use this to get a better understanding of what happened (and when) to the support request.

Replying to a Ticket

Reply to a Keeping ticket just like you would a normal email. When you hit "Reply" in Gmail, you'll see a funny looking email address in the "To" field. Your reply will be routed through Keeping before it gets forwarded on to your customer. Keeping also sync's a copy of your reply to each of your agents.
For Keeping to work properly, it's important you don't change the email address in the "to" field or add any additional recipients to the message (including the "cc" field).
Replying to a Keeping ticket in Gmail.
After you have composed your reply, you can hit Gmail's default "Send" button, or click the Keeping K logo to send the message and change the status at the same time. By default, Keeping will set the status to "Closed" when you reply (you can change this in your mailbox settings).

Insert a Knowledge Base Answer

Click the "Lighting Bolt" icon to bring up your library of Knowledge Base answers. After you choose an answer you can quickly insert it in to your reply.
The Knowledge Base is a great way to save time by creating a database of commonly asked questions and responses.
See more about how to use the Knowledge Base in our dedicated help article below.

Creating a New Ticket

Use the "New ticket" button on the left sidebar to create a ticket and email your customer from your support mailbox. By default, when you create a new ticket its status is "Pending". You can adjust this default in your Mailbox settings.
Make sure you don't edit anything above the --- DO NOT EDIT THE "TO" FIELD AND WHAT'S ABOVE THIS LINE --- marker or change the "to" email address. Feel free to change or edit the subject.
After you hit "Send', Keeping will email your customer from your support mailbox and sync the new ticket with your team. If your customer replies, the ticket status will be changed to an "Open" status.

Those are the basics of using Keeping in Gmail. Feel free to dive in, or keep moving on to the next section if you'd like to learn more about Keeping in depth.

Copy link
On this page
Your Keeping Inbox
See Your Tickets
Filter Your Tickets
Viewing a Ticket
Ticket ID and Footer
Assigning, Prioritizing, and Changing Ticket Status
Creating and Adding Tags
Viewing and Creating Notes
Activity Log
Replying to a Ticket
Insert a Knowledge Base Answer
Creating a New Ticket